Heritage Hub: Fielding Johnson Building Trail
Exploring the life of the Fielding Johnson Building.
The Fielding Johnson Building occupies a prominent hill on what was called the South Field, outside Leicester’s original Borough walls. When it was built, it was remote from the centre of Leicester, and close to the Cattle Market. The building predates Welford Road Cemetery (1849), the establishment of Victoria Park (1866) that was formerly a racecourse (1806-1883) and also predates the park’s Grandstand (1866, demolished in 1940 after landmine damage). The Asylum also predates the first Freemen’s Cottages (1856) and De Montfort Hall (1911). During its lifetime, the Fielding Johnson Building has witnessed some fascinating history and has had three main uses. This tour will explain the building’s original extent and how it has evolved over time.
This trail was created by Amy Mckay (illustator) and Elizabeth Blood (researcher). It was funded by the University of Leicester's Heritage Hub as part of their ongoing program of events. For more information please visit the following link: Heritage Hub | Heritage and Culture | University of Leicester.
History
Author affiliation
School of History, University of LeicesterVersion
- VoR (Version of Record)